Ok, I understand
Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.

Woore Parish Council


Mission Statement

Our primary role is to provide a local democratic voice for the people of the Parish of Woore.

We aim to support and contribute towards the economic and social life of the community, and to improve the quality and safety of life of local residents by providing services efficiently, effectively, and with the best value for money.

The council will conduct its business openly and will consult widely with all concerned.

Key Aims & Objectives

  • Strive to manage council affairs in accordance with the principles of 'Quality Parish Council' status: governance, democracy and communication 
  • Provide suitable Parish Council-controlled recreation facilities within the parish
  • Continue to support completion of the Parish Plan
  • Secure retention of all major village services

Woore Neighbourhood Plan

Neighbourhood Plan web site: http://www.woorenpt.org.uk See also Documents tab for Neighbourhood Plan, on this web site


Parish Councillors serving the term of office until May 2021:

Michael Cowey (Chairman)
Mistletoe Bungalow, Candle Lane, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9RB 
Tel. 01630 642963 
Email michael.cowey@wooreparishcouncil.org or chairman@wooreparishcouncil.org

Michael Cowey has  been appointed as the Parish Council's Chairman from May 2018. 

The Parish Council has also appointed Michael Cowey as one of its two  representatives on the Neighbourhood Planning Steering Group and Shropshire Council's Local Joint Committee for the north of Shropshire.

Michael Cowey is also a Governor of Woore Primary School.

Gaynor Irwin (Vice Chairman)
The Manor House, Audlem Road, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9RJ
Tel. 07437 178426 
Email gaynor.irwin@wooreparishcouncil.org 

Gaynor Irwin has been appointed as the Parish Council's sole representative on the Shropshire Council and Shropshire Association of Local Councils Town and Parish Council Forum.

Althea Allison 
The Paddock, London Road, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9SQ 
Tel. 07525  862539
Email althea.allison@wooreparishcouncil.org 

Althea Allison is one of two Parish Councillors appointed as Financial Scrutineers to scrutinise the Parish Council's Accounts. Althea Allison is also one of two Parish Councillors appointed to represent the Parish Council on the charity the Woore United Charities. 

Helen Blake 
Tree View, Grove Crescent, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9SX 
Tel. 01630 647892 
Email helen.blake@wooreparishcouncil.org

Helen Blake has been appointed as the Parish Council's sole representative on the Woore Victory Hall Trust's Management Committee. 

Malcolm Blake  
Tree View, Grove Crescent, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9SX 
Tel. 01630 647892 
Email malcolm.blake@wooreparishcouncil.org 

Malcolm Blake has been appointed as one of the Council's two representative on the Neighbourhood Planning Steering Group.

Malcolm Carter
2 Ash Mount, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9RJ
Tel: 07817 658070 
Email malcolm.carter@wooreparishcouncil.org

Kate Chell 
2 Blaizefield Close, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9SU

Tel. 01630 647511

Email kate.chell@wooreparishcouncil.org

Kate Chell is is one of two Parish Councillors appointed as Financial Scrutineers to scrutinise the Parish Council's Accounts.Kate is also the Parish Council's representative on the Old Woore School Trust.

Kyle Davies
Kingsley, Audlem Road, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9RL
Tel. 01630 642857
Email kyle.davies@wooreparishcouncil.org

Andrew Ford 

3 Beech Avenue, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9TF
Tel. 07971 569089
Email andrew.ford@wooreparishcouncil.org 


Jilly Higgin
Phynsonhayes, Woore, Shropshire CW3 9SP
Tel. 07738 413593
Email jilly.higgin@wooreparishcouncil.org 

Jilly Higgin is one of two Parish Councillors appointed to represent the Parish Council on the Shropshire Association of Local Councils and she has also been appointed as one of the two Parish Councillor representatives on the charity the Woore United Charities.


If you need to contact all Councillors at the same time, please email everybody@wooreparishcouncil.org and your message will be sent to each individual at once.


Please be aware that Councillors may not always be able to access their emails on a regular basis. 
If you do not receive a response to an email within 7 days, then please forward your message to the clerk (clerk@wooreparishcouncil.org) and it will be dealt with accordingly.


The parish is also served by:

Bernie Morris (Clerk)
Tel. 07960 954771
Email clerk@wooreparishcouncil.org 

Sally Tyson and Carol Bedson have both been appointed by the Parish Council as joint public Footpath, Bridleway and Byway Officers and the Council's Tree Officers. They can be contacted via the Clerk

Roy Aldcroft (Shropshire Councillor for Market Drayton East, Norton-in-Hales & Woore)
Website www.shropshire.gov.uk
Email roy.aldcroft@shropshire.gov.uk

Owen Paterson (MP for North Shropshire)
Website www.owenpaterson.org
Email via https://www.owenpaterson.org/contact

John Campion (Police & Crime Commissioner for West Mercia)

Telephone: 01905 331656       Further details at Documents link from this web site
Email opcc@westmercia.pnn.police.uk


All Members of the Council are required by law to complete a Disclosable Pecuniary Interests Form within 28 days of being elected or appointed to office. These Forms can be viewed by clicking on the drop down arrow next to "About Us" near the top of this page.

Useful Links

Shropshire Council website: www.shropshire.gov.uk

Travel & Transport: www.shropshire.gov.uk/traveltransport.nsf

Woore Primary School: www.woore.org

Low Carbon Community: www.lowcarboncommunity.org

Marches Energy Agency: www.mea.org.uk

Traffic Speed Readings from the MVAS Mobile Signs     

WOORE VICTORY HALL (information, what's on & bookings): www.woorevictoryhall.org.uk


(Woore Parish Council is not responsible for the content of external sites. Inclusion here is for information only, and does not constitute endorsement by Woore Parish Council)